Skip to content

Text size:

Can you be my ‘Buddy’ to provide flexible, pre arranged, outings and respite cover

I am 69 and a retired professional, a long term survivor of a brain tumour. I live with my wife and our dog. I value my independence and would like to remain in my own home as long as I can. At this time, I manage my own personal hygiene needs, but would like to meet people who are willing to support when I need help. Experience of supporting people is in this area is required. I have some issues with communication and understanding and people with experience of brain injuries would be good, including people experiencing seizures, although I have been seizure free for a considerable time.
I like to go out, I would need you to drive me, so you need a car and a full driving licence and the relevant insurance. I enjoy going out for coffee and short trips. I really enjoy listening to music and live music. Recently I have attended an art therapy group and would like support to access similar experiences. I can walk short distances, but this is becoming more difficult.
I can manage basic food and drink preparation, I do need someone who can help me with a main meal.
We do have an elderly family dog, so liking dogs is essential. I would prefer a non smoker.
I am looking initially for someone to offer 3 hours once a week for an outing and the capacity to offer flexible support for agreed weekends and longer periods to provide respite for my wife who is my main support, this will enable her to have a break and a break from each other. Input in time and tasks may increase as my condition changes. I would like stability and someone who works for themselves and has a network to cover for their own leave would be ideal. This would allow us to get to know each other.
I will require evidence of previous experience, 2 recent references and a current DBS check.

Genders which may apply for this job – Any

Hours per week – Flexible hours and sessions, which may be mutually agreed. Increasing during respite periods and as my condition changes.

Hourly rate – Self employed person is required at £16/hr

Area – Shrewsbury rural north/west (Baschurch, Necliffe,Harmer Hill etc)

Driving licence required – Yes

Employer has pets – Yes

Employer is smoker – No

Required care experience – dressing and toileting, e.g. help washing, e.g. hoisting and/or help to transfer, Medication training, Moving and handling, Moving and handling, e.g. hoisting and/or help to transfer, Personal care, Personal care, e.g. help washing, dressing and toileting, Working with people with a Physical Disability

Noticeboard Advice

For your privacy and protection when applying for a job online:

  • Never provide credit card or bank account information, or perform any sort of monetary transaction.
  • By applying for a job using this site you are agreeing to comply with and be subject to the terms and conditions for use of this site.